Oh the Possibilities

So it’s summer and I’ve had countless hours to sit and ponder about what to do when I graduate, where I want to be and what I want to be doing. The only thing that ever comes to mind though, is TRAVELING. I swear that is all I ever think about.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love my family and my friends but I refuse to settle for anything less than what I am dreaming of. I have traveled before and it just leaves me itching for more and more amazing experiences.

Now I have a few questions for you all out there: Is it realistic to just leave everything behind, go to a different country and try to build a life there with no job, nor a lot of money. I know I would only be able to stay for around 3 months without a visa or work permit, but I know people have gone for a short stay gone back home and applied for a visa….right? or am I just a big dreamer here?

 

Have you ever thought of leaving your home country to live abroad or know someone who has, what was the process like?

 

 

*Jamie

2 responses to “Oh the Possibilities

  1. Follow your dreams! I wanted to go to Japan for a year after uni. None of my hometown friends have any interest in travel and thought I was crazy, but here I am more than four years later in Tokyo! The great thing about traveling is you’ll find other like-minded people from around the world who love traveling too!

    Make sure to stay safe (Ladies have to be twice as vigilant as the men) and if you are worried about money, why not find a job that will allow you to see other countries? If you have a college degree there are plenty of opportunities to teach English. I’ve also heard about a company called “Peace Boat” based out of Japan, although I don’t know much about it. http://www.peaceboat.org/english/wtpb/index.

    Whatever you do,don’t feel forced to settle into the life everyone else wants and do what you want!

  2. Thanks so much for your inspiring comment! I agree 100% with you about finding like minded people while traveling. The people I have met while traveling/studying abroad have become some of my closest friends.

    I will definitely check out “Peace Boat” 🙂

Leave a Reply

